Celebrating 50 years of London boroughs

Celebrating 50 years of London boroughs

Map of the London boroughs

Formed on 1 April 1965 at the same time as Greater London by the London Government Act 1963, 12 boroughs were designated as inner London boroughs and 20 as outer London boroughs and they shape the way we live today.

Throughout 2015, there will be an opportunity to explore and reflect on the impact of the new structure on local communities and how 50 years of London’s local councils have influenced our lives – by shaping our local neighbourhoods, improving social housing and local transport, delivering public health services, and supporting our children’s education.

To mark this milestone in London’s history the Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) is working with London Councils to raise awareness of funding available to help local authorities, community groups and not-for-profit organisations to mark the 50th anniversary of the London boroughs.

Funding is available from £3,000 to £100,000 under HLF’s Sharing Heritage, Our Heritage and Young Roots grants programmes for projects that create opportunities for people to get involved in exploring and enjoying the heritage of their London borough over the past 50 years. Projects could explore any aspect of history linked to London boroughs including the histories of places, buildings, events, people and communities, people’s memories as well as cultural traditions.

Find out more
If you are interested in finding out more about the funding available and the activities that will be taking place, please contact Michael Murray, London Development Manager via email at michaelm@hlf.org.uk.

Efallai y bydd gennych chi ddiddordeb hefyd mewn ...