In your area

In your area

We believe all communities should benefit from National Lottery funding for heritage.

We've supported projects across the UK, from Orkney and Northern Ireland’s Mourne coast to Pembrokeshire and the white cliffs of Dover.

How we are supporting areas under-represented in our funding

Stakeholders are strongly supportive of us addressing under-representation in our funding of geographical areas, with a focus on two aspects:

  • areas that have received least funding in the past
  • areas that experience deprivation

Using measures of our spend per capita and standard indices of deprivation, we have identified 13 local authority areas that fulfil both criteria.

Our local teams will work strategically with stakeholders, from within heritage and beyond, to identify the best way to support organisations to meet local needs. This will include, if appropriate, soliciting applications for priority heritage projects, and offering micro-grants as successfully trialled in Barrow-in-Furness in 2017.

The 13 areas are:

  • Brent (Greater London)
  • Corby (Northamptonshire)
  • Enfield (Greater London)
  • Knowsley (Merseyside)
  • Inverclyde (Scotland)
  • Luton (Bedfordshire)
  • Newham (Greater London)
  • North East Lincolnshire
  • North Lanarkshire (Scotland)
  • Neath Port Talbot (Wales)
  • Rhondda Cynon Taff (Wales)
  • Tendring (Essex)
  • Walsall (West Midlands)